The Kansas Helmet Project, described on their Twitter profile (@KSHelmetProject) as “A site to celebrate Kansas HS football!” the project is run by Scott Peavy and Rod Stallbaumer and is quickly gaining a following on Twitter.

Much like the NCAA Basketball Tournament, the project has 64 high school football helmets seeded by a committee. According to the Kansas Helmet Projects website, the committee is made up of current and former coaches from throughout the state tasked with picking their 45 favorite helmets. The seedings for the bracket are based upon selection committee votes first, then randomly assigned if there was a tie. coverage area teams that have been selected include Prairie View as a number 3 seed, Fredonia as a number 5 seed, Labette County and Wellsville as a number 6 seed, Southeast-Cherokee and Eureka as a number 7 seed, Columbus and Erie as a number 9 seed, Uniontown as a number 10 seed, and Hartford as a number 15 seed.

The 4-#16 seeds were determined by a fan vote that ended on Saturday morning. Two coverage area teams, Humboldt and St. Mary’s Colgan, secured one of the 4 “play-in” spots.

1st round voting is open now until noon on Sunday, April 19th, 2020.

The link to vote can be found by clicking here.

Here are the 4 “regionals” and their pairings. Good luck to all the teams.

%d bloggers like this: