The Kansas Helmet Project described on their Twitter profile (@KSHelmetProject) as “A site to celebrate Kansas HS football!” the project is run by Scott Peavy and Rod Stallbaumer and is quickly gaining a following on Twitter.

Much like the NCAA Basketball Tournament, the project has 64 high school football helmets seeded by a committee. According to the Kansas Helmet Projects website, the committee is made up of current and former coaches from throughout the state tasked with picking their 45 favorite helmets. The seedings for the bracket are based upon selection committee votes first, then randomly assigned if there was a tie.

Advancing to the 2nd Round from the coverage area will be number 3 seed Prairie View, number 6 seeds Labette County and Wellsville, number 9 seed Columbus, number 10 seed Uniontown, number 15 seed Hartford, and number 16 seed Humboldt.

Out of the 7 remaining coverage teams, Hartford had the biggest support with over 6,100 votes and winning with 72% of the vote in their match-up.

In the 2nd round, no coverage area teams are matched up against one another.

2nd round voting will begin at 8AM on Monday, April 20th, 2020 until 8AM on Tuesday, April 21st, 2020.

Click here to vote.

Here are the updated 4 “regionals” and their pairings. Good luck to all the teams.