TOPEKA, Kan. — The KSHSAA is proud to announce that Josh Tanking has been awarded the National Federation Officials Association (NFOA) Distinguished National Contributor Award. The NFHS selects one individual from across the country to be awarded this honor each year. Mr. Tanking is from Corning, Kan. and has been a registered official with the KSHSAA for 23 years. Josh is an avid recruiter of officials and has recruited more than 45 officials in the past four years for the KSHSAA scholarship program designed to encourage new officials as they start their career. Josh is a current member of the KSHSAA Official Advisory Committee and serves as the league commissioner for two leagues. Tanking is an accomplished basketball official working at the state level for 19 years.


“The KSHSAA appreciates the contributions Josh has made in helping recruit, retain, train and assign officials in Kansas.  Mr. Tanking has served the youth of Kansas as an official at the highest level and is very deserving of this recognition,” said KSHSAA Executive Director Bill Faflick.


Also receiving national recognition is Polly Schroeder who was named the National Federation Officials Association (NFOA) Section 5 Distinguished Active Official Award. Section 5 includes the states of Kansas, Nebraska, Missouri, Minnesota, North Dakota and South Dakota.  Polly, from Wichita, Kan. has been registered as a basketball and volleyball official for 21 years.  She has umpired softball for 16 years. Schroeder was the first female official in Kansas to officiate a state tournament in three different sports, earning the right to officiate state volleyball, basketball and softball in the same school year.


“After coaching for several years, Mrs. Schroeder found another way to give back to the game becoming a highly successful official. Polly is very deserving of this recognition, she has been a role model for officials for more than 20 years,” said KSHSAA Executive Director Bill Faflick.


The NFHS also recognized twelve other active officials as 2019 State Officials of the Year.  These officials have made significant contributions to high school officiating as a KSHSAA registered official.


Baseball – Neal Jeffery, Wichita

Boys Basketball – Cody Stucky, Maize

Girls Basketball – Chris Rohr, Hutchinson

Football – Quintin Flanagin, Colby

Boys Soccer – Mark Edwards, Wichita

Girls Soccer – Ellen O’Leary, Overland Park

Boys Track & Field – Don Wiens, Kensington

Girls Track & Field – Mike Kastle, Parsons

Softball – Kurt Lohse, Topeka

Volleyball – Donna Lee, Wichita

Wrestling – Jeremy Abell, Barnard

Gymnastics – John Comstock, Kansas City